header-image

Smooth Jazz Europe News





JEFF GOLUB live @ Smooth Jazz Festival Augsburg

Guitar | Friday, September 13, 2013 at 08:00 pm

Jeff Golub was born on April 15, 1955, in Akron, OH, where he grew up listening to a variety of R&B, funk, blues, jazz, pop, and rock and began playing the guitar as a pre-adolescent. In the ’70s, Golub moved away from Akron to attend to the prestigious Berklee College of Music in Boston. In 1980, he moved to New York City, where he is still residing.

Golub’s musical background is rich and diverse. It was in the early ’80s that Golub was hired to back arena rock/hard rock star Billy Squier, (7 LP’s and three world tours) and that association led to a lot of other session work. The list of major rock or R&B artists Golub backed in the ’80s or ’90s (either in the studio or on-stage) includes Tina Turner, John Waite, Vanessa Williams, Ashford & Simpson, Dar Williams, and former J. Geils Band vocalist Peter Wolf. In 1988, Golub was hired to back Rod Stewart, an association that lasted for seven years, four albums and five would tours.

1988 was also the year in which Golub’s first album as a leader, “Unspoken Words”, was released, but at that point, he was still devoting most of his time to backing other artists. It wasn’t until 1994, when Golub founded the band Avenue Blue, that playing as a leader became the guitarist’s main activity. That year Avenue Blue’s self-titled debut album fared well in the smooth jazz/NAC market. Two more Avenue Blue projects were released – “Naked City” in 1996 and “Nightlife” in 1997.

Starting with 1999′s album “Out of the Blue”, Jeff Golub presented himself again as a solo artist – followed by another seven solo albums. The year 2011 has been a roller coaster ride for Golub: in June, he became blind due to collapse of the optic nerve, later the year he released “Three Kings”, a tribute work to the music of Albert, B.B. and Freddie King. His latest album “Train Keeps A Rolling” will be available on August 13, 2013.


Here you can order your exclusive Hotel Package:
2 nights (September 13-15, 2013) incl. breakfast & all concerts: from 228,00 Euro per person in a double room
Concert tickets per day (without hotel): from 46,00 Euro per person


I look forward to a great time,

Christian

header-image

Smooth Jazz Europe News





JEFF GOLUB live @ Smooth Jazz Festival Augsburg

Gitarre | Freitag, 13. September 2013 um 20:00 Uhr

Jeff Golub wurde am 15. April 1955 in Akron, USA geboren. In seiner Jugend hörte er R&B, Funk, Blues, Jazz, Pop und Rock und begann noch vor seiner Pubertät mit dem Gitarrespielen. In den 70er Jahren zog Golub von Akron nach Boston und besuchte das renommierte Berklee College of Music. 1980 verschlug es ihn schließlich nach New York City, wo er heute noch wohnt.

Golubs musikalischer Hintergrund ist reich an Vielfalt: es war in den frühen 80er Jahren, als ihn der Rock-/Hardrock-Star Billy Squier für sieben LP’s und drei Welttourneen engagierte und Golub wurde dadurch zum gefragten Session-Musiker. Die Liste von Rock- und R&B-Künstlern, die Golub in den 80ern und 90ern (im Studio oder auf der Bühne) begleitete, umfasst so bedeutende Namen wie Tina Turner, John Waite, Vanessa Williams, Ashford & Simpson, Dar Williams und den ehemaligen J. Geils Band Sänger Peter Wolf. 1988 wurde Golub dann von Rod Stewart angeheuert – die Zusammenarbeit hielt sieben Jahre, vier Alben und fünf Welttourneen.

1988 war auch das Jahr in dem Golub mit “Unspoken Words” sein erstes Album als Bandleader veröffentlichte, obwohl er zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch überwiegend andere Künstler begleitete. Erst mit der Gründung der Band Avenue Blue im Jahr 1994 veränderte sich Golub’s Haupttätigkeit. Im gleichen Jahr kam das gleichnamige Debüt-Album “Avenue Blue” auf den Smooth Jazz-Markt – mit großem Erfolg. Zwei weitere Projekte ließen nicht lange auf sich warten und wurden 1996 (“Naked City”) und 1997 (“Nightlife”) veröffentlicht.

Beginnend mit dem 1999 erschienenen Album “Out of the Blue” präsentierte sich Jeff Golub wieder als Solo-Künstler – sieben erfolgreiche Solo-Alben folgten. Das Jahr 2011 wurde zur Achterbahnfahrt für Golub: nachdem er im Juni auf beiden Augen erblindete (Kollaps des Sehnervs), veröffentlichete er kurz darauf das Album “Three Kings” (2011), eine Hommage an die Musik von Albert, B.B. und Freddie King. Sein neues Album “Train Keeps A Rolling” ersteint am 13. August 2013.


Sichern Sie sich gleich Ihr exklusives Hotelpaket:
2 Nächte (13. – 15. September 2013) inkl. Frühstück & alle Konzerte: ab 228,00 Euro pro Person im Doppelzimmer
Konzertticket pro Tag (ohne Hotel): ab 46,00 Euro pro Person


Ich freue mich auf eine tolle Zeit,

Christian